Delegates to the 11th quinquennial Constituency Session of the Kansas-Nebraska Conference gathered in person on Sunday, Aug. 29, at the New Haven Church in Overland Park, Kansas, to review reports and vote leadership and policies for the coming five years.

Over 300 delegates registered, creating a quorum whereby business could legally be conducted. Acting on the recommendations of the Nominating Committee chaired by Mid-America Union president Gary Thurber, delegates voted  to elect three executive officers to serve as president (Ron Carlson), vice president for administration (Melvin Santos), and vice president for finance (Roger Driver).


During his remarks, Elder Carlson expressed appreciation to outgoing vp for finance, Darin Gottfried, who has accepted a call to serve as treasurer and vp for finance of the Rocky Mountain Conference, effective Sept. 1, 2021.

Carlson also said he was thankful for the outstanding work of Stephanie Gottfried, outgoing student scholarships coordinator and publications director for the conference. She will continue to serve remotely as interim publications director.

All other conference departmental directors were elected to serve another term.

More agenda items

Following lively discussion regarding proposed changes to the conference’s bylaws, delegates voted to accept some of the changes that were presented by the Constitution and Bylaws Committee. Other proposed changes were withdrawn.

Darrel Huenergardt, legal council for the Mid-America Union, served as parliamentarian. Other representatives from the union and the General Conference were in attendance to assist with procedures and answer questions that arose.

beyond the business of policies

Thurber expressed confidence in the elected leadership team, along with  continuing hope for the future of the conference as it remains focused on ministry and mission in the Kansas-Nebraska territory.

For more information about the Kansas-Nebraska Conference and upcoming events, visit

Photo: Hugh Davis